What makes the RDA Townsville and North West Queensland Committee different to other regional economic development organisations in the region?


  1. RDA’s operations have been funded by the Commonwealth Government since 2009 as part of a national network.
  2. RDA’s Chair and Deputy Chair were appointed by the Minister for Regional Development Senator the Hon Fiona Nash. Other members of the Committee were appointed by the previous Minister the Hon Warren Truss MP.
  3. Anyone from the region can nominate to become a Committee member. Appointments are based on the nominees’ strong links in the community with experience in local government, the private business sector and/or community work.
  4. The Committee operates as a not-for-profit incorporated association with all 11 Committee members being unpaid volunteers. There are no sitting fees and Committee members are only reimbursed for direct expenses to attend meetings.
  5. RDA does not have a paid membership structure. RDA works with all regional economic development stakeholders to create outcomes to benefit the broad community.
  6. The large region covered by our RDA includes 100% of the area covered by Townsville Enterprise Limited, 100% of the area covered by the Mount Isa to Townsville Economic Zone Inc (MITEZ), most of the area covered by Gulf Savannah Development Inc (GSD) and part of the area covered by the Central Western Queensland Remote Area Planning and Development Board (RAPAD).
  7. RDA has two full-time staff.


Subscribe to our Newsletter